Log in Become a Member


Winegrowing area (District) in the southeast on the coast of South Africa, which belongs to the Cape South Coast region. It lies north of the climatically similar District Walker Bay. The name means "behind the mountain", which refers to the eastern mountain range of the Hottentots-Holland Mountains. There are the Wards Elgin, Greyton, Klein River and Theewater. Overberg used to be known more as a growing area for apples. Viniculture has only been practised here since the mid-1970s and has since then experienced a great boom. The vineyards cover almost 1,000 hectares. The climate is rather cool and temperate due to the proximity of the sea, partly artificial irrigation is necessary. The main varieties grown are Chardonnay, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Noir, Sauvignon Blanc and Shiraz. Many wineries from the north-western districts of Stellenbosch and Paarl, such as Nederburg, obtain their grapes from here. Well known producers are Beaumont, Newton-Johnson, Paul Cluver Estate, Raka and Whale Haven.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.148 Keywords · 48.179 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.462 Pronunciations · 156.180 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon