You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Formerly part of Yugoslavia, the Republic of Macedonia became independent in 1991. For historical reasons, both Macedonia and (for the region of Macedonia with the three-fingered peninsula of Chalkidike and the monastic republic of Athos) claimed for themselves (see also under Macedonia). After many years of dispute, the two states came to an agreement in 2018. On 12 February 2019, the country was officially renamed North Macedonia (Republika Severna Makedonija). Viticulture in Northern Macedonia has a long tradition, as in all other former Yugoslavian constituent states.

Nordmazedonien - Weinberge bei Kavadarci / Tikveš

Wine-growing regions

The Mediterranean-continental climate is characterised by mild winters and warm, sometimes even subtropical summers. The topography is characterised by mountains and barrenness. There are three wine-growing regions producing "Vrvno Vino" with controlled designation of origin:

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,804 Keywords · 47,000 Synonyms · 5,320 Translations · 31,131 Pronunciations · 175,219 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon