Log in Become a Member

Monti Lessini

DOC area for white wines and red wines in the Italian region of Veneto. The zone is located in the extensive Lessinia mountain region in the foothills of the Venetian Alps. It includes areas in the two provinces of Vicenza and Verona. In Vicenza these are completely the municipalities of Arzignano, Brogliano, Castelgomberto, Chiampo, Gambugliano and Trissino, as well as parts of the municipalities of Cornedo, Costabissara, Gambellara, Isola Vicentina, Malo, Marano Vicentino, Monte di Malo, Montebello Vicentino, Montecchio Maggiore, Montorso Vicentino, Nogarole Vicentino, San Vito di Leguzzano, Schio and Zermeghedo In Verona these are completely the municipalities of San Giovanni Ilarione and Vestenanova, and parts of Badia Calavena, Cazzano di Tramigna, Montecchia di Crosara, Roncà and Tregnago.

The Bianco is produced from a minimum of 50% Chardonnay and a maximum of 50% in any use or mixture of Durella, Garganega, Pinot Bianco(Pinot Blanc), Pinot Nero(Pinot Noir), Pinot Grigio(Pinot Gris) and Sauvignon(Sauvignon Blanc). The Durello (also as Passito) must consist of Durella (zum. 85%), as well as any use of Garganega, Pinot Bianco, Pinot Nero and Chardonnay (max. 15%). The Pinot Nero must contain at least 85% of the variety. If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna can be indicated followed by the name of the vineyard. For the sparkling wines there is a separate DOC area Lessini Durello.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.145 Keywords · 48.178 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.459 Pronunciations · 156.084 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.