Log in Become a Member

Monteregio di Massa Marittima

DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Maremma landscape in the Italian region of Tuscany The zone includes the municipalities of Massa Marittima and Monterotondo Marittimo, and parts of Castiglione della Pescaia, Follonica, Gavorrano, Roccastrada and Scarlino in the province of Grosseto. The municipality or Vigna followed by the name of the vineyard can be indicated on the label if the grapes come from classified vineyards.

The Bianco is produced from Trebbiano Toscano and/or Vermentino (at 50%), as well as other authorised varieties (max. 50%). The Rosso and Rosato wines are made from Sangiovese (50%) and other authorised varieties. The varietal wines must contain at least 90% (white) and 85% (red) of the respective variety. These are the two white wines Vermentino and Viognier, and the two red wines Sangiovese (also as Rosato) and Syrah.

The white Vin Santo is produced from Trebbiano Toscano and/or Vermentino (at 50%). The salmon red Vin Santo Occhio di Pernice is produced from Sangiovese (50%). As Novello there are Rosso and Sangiovese; as Riserva there are Rosso, Sangiovese and both Vin Santo.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.128 Keywords · 48.185 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.442 Pronunciations · 155.938 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.