Log in Become a Member

Merano hills

Meranese di Collina (I)

Subzone (also Meraner, ital. Meranese di Collina or Meranese) for red wine within the South Tyrolean DOC area (Alto Adige) in the Italian wine growing area South Tyrol (in the double region Trentino-South Tyrol). The zone comprises the south- and south-western slopes around the city of Merano on both sides of the Adige River (Adige) in the municipalities of Algund (Lagundo), Burgstall (Postal), Gargazon (Gargazzone), Kuens (Caines), Lana (Lana), Cermes (Cermes), Marling (Marlengo), Merano (Merano), Riffian (Rifiano), Scena (Scena), St. Pankraz (San Pancrazio), Tisens (Tesimo) and Dorf Tirol (Tirolo). The wines from the historic sites around the historic Castle Tyrol may use the designation "Burggräfler" (ital. del Burgraviato). If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna followed by the name of the vineyard can be indicated. The wine must contain at least 85% Vernatsch varieties(Schiava); 15% may be other authorised varieties. It is also known as "Merano house wine".

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.121 Keywords · 48.182 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.435 Pronunciations · 155.910 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.