You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Meraner Hügel

Subzone (also Meraner, ital. Meranese di Collina or Meranese) for red wine within the South Tyrolean DOC area (Alto Adige) in the Italian wine growing area South Tyrol (in the double region Trentino-South Tyrol). The zone comprises the south- and south-western slopes around the city of Merano on both sides of the Adige River (Adige) in the municipalities of Algund (Lagundo), Burgstall (Postal), Gargazon (Gargazzone), Kuens (Caines), Lana (Lana), Cermes (Cermes), Marling (Marlengo), Merano (Merano), Riffian (Rifiano), Scena (Scena), St. Pankraz (San Pancrazio), Tisens (Tesimo) and Dorf Tirol (Tirolo). The wines from the historic sites around the historic Castle Tyrol may use the designation "Burggräfler" (ital. del Burgraviato). If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna followed by the name of the vineyard can be indicated. The wine must contain at least 85% Vernatsch varieties(Schiava); 15% may be other authorised varieties. It is also known as "Merano house wine".

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,755 Keywords · 47,050 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 31,072 Pronunciations · 174,298 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon