You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Canton with the capital of the same name in central Switzerland. The vineyards cover 40 hectares and belong to the wine region of German-speaking Switzerland. There are four areas: Seetal, Sempachersee/Surental, Vierwaldstättersee and Wiggertal. Mainly half of the white wine varieties Riesling-Sylvaner(Müller-Thurgau), half Pinot Gris, half Solaris and half Sauvignon Blanc, as well as the red wine varieties Blauburgunder(Pinot Noir), Garanoir and Zweigelt are grown. There are about 40 winegrowers. In 2005 an AOC statute was introduced.

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to keep up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to come back often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,442 Keywords · 47,022 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,775 Pronunciations · 209,931 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon