You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The state with the capital Baton Rouge and the famous port city New Orleans is located in the south of the USA on the Gulf of Mexico, bordered by the states Mississippi in the east, Texas in the west and Arkansas in the north. Louisiana was explored by the Spanish from 1539 and by the French from 1681, and today the French-Spanish cultural tradition can still be felt. It originally stretched across the entire Mississippi area far to the north and, together with Canada, formed the colony of New France. Mississippi Delta is the only AVA classified, which Louisiana shares with Mississippi and Tennessee. American vines of the species Vitis aestivalis and Vitis lincecumii, hybrids such as Blanc Du Bois, Vidal Bl anc and Villard Blanc, as well as the European varieties Cabernet Sauvignon, Gewürztraminer, Pinot Gris, Pinot Noir, Riesling and Syrah are cultivated. The production farms are located in the south, these are for example Casa de Sue Winery, Feliciana Cellars Winery, Pontchartrain Vineyards and St. Amant Winery.

Voices of our members

Thomas Götz

Serious sources on the internet are rare - and Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one such source. When researching for my articles, I regularly consult the wein.plus encyclopaedia. There I get reliable and detailed information.

Thomas Götz
Weinberater, Weinblogger und Journalist; Schwendi

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,428 Keywords · 47,032 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,761 Pronunciations · 207,997 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon