Log in Become a Member


DOCG area for white wine in the border area of the two Italian regions Veneto and Friuli Venezia Giulia. The classification was carried out in 2011, until then the wine was included in the DOC area Lison-Pramaggiore, which is identical in terms of area. It extends from the Adriatic coast in the south between the rivers Tagliamento and Livenza to the Friuli Venezia Giulia region in the north. Viticulture here dates back to Roman times and was rationalised by the Benedictine order in the 10th century. The temperate climate is characterised by cool, dry north winds (bora) and hot, humid south-east winds (scirocco)

In Veneto, the zone includes the municipalities of Annone Veneto, Cinto Caomaggiore, Gruaro, Fossalta di Portogruaro, Pramaggiore and Teglio Veneto, parts of Caorle, Concordia Sagittaria, Portogruaro, San Michele al Tagliamento and Santo Stino di Livenza in the province of Veneto, and Meduna di Livenza and parts of Motta di Livenza in the province of Treviso. In Friuli Venezia Giulia, these are the municipalities of Chions, Cordovado and Pravisdomini, and parts of Azzano Decimo, Morsano al Tagliamento and Sesto al Reghena in the province of Pordenone

There is also a Lison Classico area entirely in Veneto, which includes the municipalities of Pradipozzo and Summaga (Portogruaro), Belfiore, Blessaglia and Salvarolo (Pramaggiore), Carline and Loncon (Annone Veneto), and parts of Cinto Caomaggiore and Santo Stino di Livenza. The wine must contain at least 85% Friulano (Friuli Venezia Giulia) or Tai (Veneto) - both are synonyms for the Sauvignonasse variety - and other authorised varieties may be used up to a maximum of 15%. The alcohol content must be at least 12% vol.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.166 Keywords · 48.193 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.480 Pronunciations · 156.227 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon