You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Lipari Islands

Archipelago (also Aeolian Islands) in the Tyrrhenian Sea. It belongs to the Italian region of Sicily and is located 30 to 80 kilometres north of it. The seven islands are called Alicudi, Filicudi, Lipari (the largest with 37.5 km²), Salina, Stromboli, Panarea and Vulcano. The entire territory was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2000. The islands are of volcanic origin, which is a good prerequisite for wine growing. Vines, capers and fig trees are cultivated. The vineyards cover about 150 hectares of vineyards mainly on the two islands of Salina and Stromboli. The white wine varieties Catarratto Bianco, Inzolia and Malvasia di Lipari are cultivated, as well as the red wine varieties Corinto Nero(Sangiovese), Nocera, Nerello Cappuccio, Nerello Mascalese and Nero d'Avola. The DOC zone Malvasia delle Lipari includes all seven islands. The production of this traditional dessert wine plays an important economic role.

Voices of our members

Roman Horvath MW

wein.plus is a handy, efficient guide to a quick overview of the colourful world of wines, winegrowers and grape varieties. In Wine lexicon, the most comprehensive of its kind in the world, you will find around 26,000 keywords on the subject of grape varieties, wineries, wine-growing regions and much more.

Roman Horvath MW
Domäne Wachau (Wachau)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,410 Keywords · 47,049 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,744 Pronunciations · 205,895 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon