You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. <br><strong>For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.</strong>

Log in Become a Member

The region (Ital. Lazio) with its capital Rome lies in the centre of Italy at the "knee" of the boot. It stretches for 320 kilometres in the west along the coast of the Tyrrhenian Sea. All the other six central regions border on Lazio. Starting from the north, these are Tuscany, Umbria, Marche (only a short stretch), Abruzzo, Molise and Campania. Already in ancient times, there was extensive viticulture and a distinct wine culture here. The area provided food and drink for the capital of the Roman Empire. Full-bodied, amber-coloured, spicy white wines came from here in ancient times. For many centuries, Rome's poets praised the wines of Lazio, especially the predecessor of Frascati. At the nearby papal court, wine played an important role in the Middle Ages. Pope Paul III. (1468-1549) outlawed French wine and had his wine chamberlain Sante Lancerio draw up a survey of Italian wines of the time. Incidentally, in 2021, two hectares of vines were planted in the papal gardens of the Castel Gandolfo summer residence on the shores of Lake Albano. The wine produced from them is used exclusively for the Vatican's own purposes; for example, as mass wine.

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to stay up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to visit more often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,079 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,413 Pronunciations · 186,972 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon