You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The French dual region comprises the four departments of Aude, Gard, Hérault and Lozère (Languedoc), as well as Pyrénées-Orientales (Roussillon), which lie along a length of 200 kilometres on the Mediterranean coast. It is also the common name for the two wine-growing regions of Languedoc and Roussillon. On 1 January 2016, the region was merged with the neighbouring region of Midi-Pyrénées to form the political region of Occitanie - Pyrénées-Méditerranée. The area extends in the shape of an amphitheatre in a semicircle from Nimes in the east to the edge of the Pyrenees on the Spanish border. A number of wine routes also pass through the vast area, these being Via Domitia (the first Roman road in Gaul), the Canal du Midi (linking Toulouse with the Mediterranean at Sète) and the Way of Saint James which runs through the dual region.

Voices of our members

Dominik Trick

The wein.plus encyclopaedia is a comprehensive, well-researched reference work. Available anytime and anywhere, it has become an indispensable part of teaching, used by students and myself alike. Highly recommended!

Dominik Trick
Technischer Lehrer, staatl. geprüfter Sommelier, Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,291 Keywords · 46,901 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,612 Pronunciations · 194,811 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon