You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The appellation is located immediately north of Pomerol(Bordeaux) and is named after the town of the same name, Lalande. The very old wine-growing region was created by the Order of the Knights of St John. The vineyards cover around 1,100 hectares of vines and are divided between the two communes of Lalande (60%), with low-lying gravel and sand terraces, and Néac (40%), situated higher up on a gravelly plateau. Wines from the commune of Néac are also allowed to use this name. The red wine is mainly blended from the varieties Merlot and Cabernet Franc, as well as portions of Cabernet Sauvignon and Malbec. This is the typical Bordeaux blend of the Rive droite (right bank). Well-known producers are Château des Annereaux, Château de Bel-Air, Château La Croix de la Chenevelle, Château Grand Ormeau, Château La Croix Saint-André, Château La Fleur de Boüard, Château Haut-Chaigneau, Château Le Sergue and Château Tournefeuille.

Voices of our members

Dr. Edgar Müller

I have great respect for the scope and quality of the wein.plus encyclopaedia. It is a unique place to go for crisp, sound information on terms from the world of wine.

Dr. Edgar Müller
Dozent, Önologe und Weinbauberater, Bad Kreuznach

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,428 Keywords · 47,031 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,761 Pronunciations · 207,801 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon