You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The parliamentary monarchy of Japan (日本, Nippon in Japanese) with its capital Tokyo in East Asia covers 377,975 km². It consists of 14,125 islands in the Pacific Ocean and is indirectly bordered by Russia to the north and north-west, North Korea and South Korea to the west and Taiwan and China to the south-west. The five main islands are Hokkaidō (78,420 km²) in the north, the central and largest island of Honshū (227,942 km²), followed to the south by the islands of Shikoku (18,297 km²) and Kyūshū (36,782 km²) as well as the small island of Okinawa (1,208 km²) further south. To the north is the Korea Strait, to the west the East China Sea, to the south the Pacific Ocean and to the east the Seto Inland Sea.

Voices of our members

Andreas Essl

The glossary is a monumental achievement and one of the most important contributions to wine knowledge. Of all the encyclopaedias I use on the subject of wine, it is by far the most important. That was the case ten years ago and it hasn't changed since.

Andreas Essl
Autor, Modena

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,428 Keywords · 47,026 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,761 Pronunciations · 208,170 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon