You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

International Wine Challenge

The British wine expert Robert Joseph founded the magazine "Wine International" together with Charles Metcalfe in 1983, which was renamed "Wine & Spirit International" in 2005. At the same time, the "International Wine Challenge" wine competition and later the "International Spirit Challenge" competition was also launched. Joseph also held the position of Chairman, but retired after the magazine, including the International Wine Challenge, was sold to the newspaper publisher William Reed in 2005. In the first year, a modest 38 wines were judged, today the number is up to 10,000 a year, making IWC the world's largest and most prestigious event of its kind, rightly called "The world's largest wine competition" in its subtitle. The competition is chaired by Charles Metcalfe, Derek Smedley (MW), Tim Atkin (MW) and Sam Harrop (MW). It is held annually. The wines must be submitted by the end of March. The tastings take place two weeks in April in London.

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,712 Keywords · 47,081 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 31,029 Pronunciations · 173,432 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon