You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Hunter Valley

This oldest winegrowing area (GI) of Australia is located 150 kilometres north of Sydney in the state of New South Wales. It is divided into two areas, the Lower Hunter Valley and the Upper Hunter Valley, which are collectively known as Hunter. There are the subareas Allandale, Belford, Broke Fordwich, Mount View, Pokolbin and Rothbury. The larger Lower Hunter Valley is considered a "real" Hunter Valley. It was here that William Kelman (1800-1863) and George Wyndham (1801-1870) first planted vines around 1820. The "father of Australian viticulture" James Busby (1802-1871) founded the Kirkton farm here in 1825. Only 130 years later the Upper Hunter Valley was opened up for viticulture. The vineyards cover about 4,000 hectares of vine area. They are planted with the white wine varieties Chardonnay, Sémillon, Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc and Verdelho as well as the red wine varieties Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Pinot Noir and Shiraz(Syrah).

Voices of our members

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher

In the past, you needed a wealth of encyclopaedias and specialist literature to keep up to date in your vinophile professional life. Today, Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one of my best helpers and can rightly be called the "bible of wine knowledge".

Prof. Dr. Walter Kutscher
Lehrgangsleiter Sommelierausbildung WIFI-Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,266 Keywords · 46,869 Synonyms · 5,322 Translations · 31,599 Pronunciations · 193,682 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon