You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Historical landscape in south-west France between the Pyrenees and the river Garonne. The Gascony includes the current départements Landes, Gers and Hautes-Pyrénées as well as parts of the départements Pyrénées-Atlantiques, Lot-et-Garonne, Tarn-et-Garonne, Haute-Garonne, Gironde and Ariège. The Spanish Aran Valley also belongs historically and linguistically to the Gascony. In ancient times, Gascony was inhabited by the Aquitaines, who, unlike the other inhabitants of Gaul, did not speak Celtic but probably a language related to Basque. The name comes from the Basque "Vasconia". In the middle of the 11th century, the area was incorporated into the county of Aquitaine and was under English rule for 300 years, before it came to France in 1453 (see also under Bordeaux wine trade). The Basque Country, which today lies beyond the Pyrenees in Spain, was also included. In Gascony are the wine appellations Côtes de Gascony, Côtes de Saint-Mont, Jurançon and Madiran, as well as the brandy area Armagnac.

Voices of our members

Thomas Götz

Serious sources on the internet are rare - and Wine lexicon from wein.plus is one such source. When researching for my articles, I regularly consult the wein.plus encyclopaedia. There I get reliable and detailed information.

Thomas Götz
Weinberater, Weinblogger und Journalist; Schwendi

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,410 Keywords · 47,048 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,744 Pronunciations · 205,645 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon