You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

The formerly independent region with its capital Besançon in the central east of France was merged with the region Bourgogne in 2016 to form the new political region Bourgogne-Franche-Comté. The IGP area Franche-Comté corresponds to the old scope with the four departments Doubs, Haute-Saône, Jura and Territoire de Belfort. It is also identical to the AOC area Côtes du Jura. Both belong to the Jura wine-growing region. Narrower geographical designations can be added to the name Franche-Comté, which are the communes of Buffard, Coteaux de Champlitte, Gy, Hugier, Motey-Bésuche, Offlanges and Vuillafans, as well as the departments of Doubs and Haute-Sâone. Important red wine varieties are Pinot Noir, Gamay, Merlot, Syrah, Poulsard, Trousseau Noir and Gamaret. Important white wine varieties are Melon d'Arbois (Chardonnay), Auxerrois, Pinot Gris, Pinot Blanc, Petit Meslier, Savagnin (Traminer), Sauvignon Blanc, Gewürztraminer and Viognier.

Voices of our members

Dr. Edgar Müller

I have great respect for the scope and quality of the wein.plus encyclopaedia. It is a unique place to go for crisp, sound information on terms from the world of wine.

Dr. Edgar Müller
Dozent, Önologe und Weinbauberater, Bad Kreuznach

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,427 Keywords · 47,031 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,760 Pronunciations · 207,741 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon