You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Former wine-growing region in Austria, renamed Wagram at the beginning of 2008, which underwent several changes in the 15 years of its existence. In 1993, the Donauland-Carnuntum wine-growing district was separated and both parts became independent. Then in 1995, the Traisental district was separated from the Donauland winegrowing area and also became a separate winegrowing area. The Donauland winegrowing region, reduced as a result, consisted of the separate sub-regions of Wagram (around 2,400 hectares, north of the Danube) and Klosterneuburg (around 350 hectares, south of the Danube). However, the name Donauland never really caught on. The name was also somewhat misleading because there are other wine-growing regions along the Danube, such as the Wachau or its tributaries. More and more winegrowers profiled themselves under the term Wagram, and the name Donauland became an almost superfluous appendage. After long discussions, it was therefore decided in mid-2007 to change the name to Wagram. For Klosterneuburg, a Großlage was now created within the Wagram winegrowing region. The new name became valid from the 2007 vintage.

Voices of our members

Dr. Edgar Müller

I have great respect for the scope and quality of the wein.plus encyclopaedia. It is a unique place to go for crisp, sound information on terms from the world of wine.

Dr. Edgar Müller
Dozent, Önologe und Weinbauberater, Bad Kreuznach

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,026 Keywords · 46,825 Synonyms · 5,324 Translations · 31,361 Pronunciations · 184,878 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon