Log in Become a Member

Del Molise

DOC area (also Molise) for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region of Molise The zone comprises a total of 82 municipalities in the provinces of Campobasso and Isernia. The wines must be of pure variety and contain at least 85% of the respective grape variety. These are the white wines Chardonnay, Falanghina, Fiano, Greco Bianco, Malvasia (?), Moscato Bianco = Muscat Blanc, Pinot Bianco = Pinot Blanc, Pinot Grigio = Pinot Gris, Sauvignon = Sauvignon Blanc and Trebbiano = Trebbiano d'Abruzzo, as well as the red wines Aglianico (also as Riserva), Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot (also as Novello and Frizzante), Pinot Nero = Pinot Noir and Sangiovese

Rosso (also called Riserva) and Rosato must contain 85% Montepulciano. The Bianco Spumante di Qualità, Rosso Spumante di Qualità and Rosato Spumante di Qualità produced by bottle fermentation are blended in any combination of Chardonnay, Pinot Bianco, Pinot Grigio, Moscato, Falanghina, Fiano, Malvasia and Montepulciano (at 50%), as well as other authorised varieties (max. 50%). A single-variety Spumante di Qualità is also available from all white wines. A single variety Passito is produced from Falanghina and Moscato Bianco.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.128 Keywords · 48.185 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.442 Pronunciations · 155.938 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.