You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The Greek archipelago (also known as the Cyclades) consists of over 200 mountainous islands in the southern Aegean Sea and covers an area of 2,600 square kilometres. In ancient times, the island of Delos in the centre, which is no longer inhabited, was one of the most important places of worship. The ring-shaped arrangement of the other islands led to the name Cyclades (ring islands). The islands outside the circle were called Sporades (the scattered islands). The group stretches from Euboea in central Greece around 200 kilometres to the south-east. Around 20 of the islands are of major tourist importance. Viticulture is also practised on some of the islands. However, only Paros and Santorini are of significance with POP-protected areas. There are other vineyards on the islands of Tinos, Mykonos, Naxos, Sikinos and Syros.

Voices of our members

Egon Mark

For me, Lexicon from wein.plus is the most comprehensive and best source of information about wine currently available.

Egon Mark
Diplom-Sommelier, Weinakademiker und Weinberater, Volders (Österreich)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,439 Keywords · 47,020 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,772 Pronunciations · 209,578 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon