You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

DOC area for white wines, red wines and rosé wines in the Italian region of Campania. The zone completely covers the municipalities of Amalfi, Atrani, Cetara, Conca dei Marini, Furore, Maiori, Minori, Positano, Praiano, Ravello, Scala, Tramonti and Vietri sul Mare in the province of Salerno. There are three subzones, Furore (Amalfi, Conca dei Marini, Furore, Praiano), Ravello (Atrani, Minori, Ravello, Scala) and Tramonti (Maiori, Tramonti), with different specifications regarding alcohol content and grape variety blend, which may be additionally indicated on the label

Bianco (also known as Passito and Spumante) is produced from Falanghina and/or Biancolella (40%), as well as other authorised varieties (max. 60%). The Furore Bianco is produced from Falanghina (30%) and Biancolella (10%) - together 40%, Biancazita/Biancatenera = Ginestra, Fenile and Ripolo (40-60%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 20%)

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

25,757 Keywords · 47,058 Synonyms · 5,310 Translations · 31,074 Pronunciations · 174,477 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon