Log in Become a Member

Colli Altotiberini

DOC area (German: Hügel am oberen Tiber) for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region of Umbria The zone includes the municipalities of Citerna, Città di Castello, Gubbio, Monte Santa Maria Tiberina, Montone, Perugia, San Giustino and Umbertide in the province of Perugia, located on both sides of the Upper Tiber Valley. The wines from this area were already praised by Pliny the Younger (61-113) during a summer stay. The pure variety wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety, up to a maximum of 15% can be other approved varieties. These are the three red wines Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Sangiovese, and the two white wines (also known as Novello) Grechetto(Grechetto di Orvieto) and Trebbiano(Trebbiano Toscano)

The Bianco (also known as Superiore) is made from Trebbiano Toscano (50%) and other authorised varieties (max. 50%). Rosso (also available as Novello) and Rosato are blended from Sangiovese (50%) and other permitted varieties (max. 50%). All red wines are also available as Riserva. The Spumante is produced in any use of Grechetto, Chardonnay, Pinot Bianco(Pinot Blanc), Pinot Nero(Pinot Noir) and Pinot Grigio(Pinot Gris) with a minimum of 50% and a maximum of 50% of other approved varieties.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.136 Keywords · 48.170 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.450 Pronunciations · 155.966 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.