Log in Become a Member


DOC area for red wines, rosé wines and white wines in the Italian region of Campania. It is named after the area of the same name, significant parts of which were established in 1991 as Italy's second largest national park and which was then declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1998. The zone covers a vast hilly area in the province of Salerno with a total of 58 municipalities. Some of the autochthonous vines cultivated here, such as Aglianico and Greco Bianco, are said to have ancient Greek origins.

The Bianco is blended from Fiano (60-65%), Trebbiano Toscano (20-30%), Greco Bianco and/or Malvasia Bianca = Malvasia Bianca di Candia (10-15%), and other authorised varieties (max. 10%). The Rosso is made from Aglianico (60-75%), Piedirosso and/or Primitivo = Tribidrag (15-20%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 25%). The Rosato is produced from Sangiovese (70-80%), Aglianico (10-15%), Primitivo and/or Piedirosso (10-15%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 10%). The red wine Aglianico (with 36 months of ageing also as Riserva) and the white wine Fiano must be made from at least 85% of the respective variety.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.146 Keywords · 48.178 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.460 Pronunciations · 156.142 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon