Log in Become a Member

Castilla y León

Castilla y León (ES)
Castille-et-León (F)
Castilia-Léon (GB)
Castiglia e León (I)
Kastilië en León (N)
Castela e Leão (PO)

One of the 17 autonomous regions of Spain or historical landscape (also known as Old Castile, Spanish Castilla y León) with about 66,000 km² in the north of the Iberian Peninsula, which is also known as the "Land of Castles". This was once the border region between the Christian and Moorish worlds, which is why many border fortresses were built here. It is considered the heartland of today's Spain. In 1492 the Moors were expelled and instead of Burgos, Valladolid was made the capital. It remained so until 1561, when King Philip II chose Valladolid as the capital. (1527-1598) chose Madrid in New Castile as the new capital. In the extremely eventful 16th century, the wine growing experienced a heyday due to the needs of the royal court and the conquered provinces in the New World. Today, red wine is the predominant type of wine produced, with the red Mencía, Garnacha Tinta and Tinto del País(Tempranillo) as well as the white Verdejo, Viura(Macabeo) and Palomino being the predominant varieties. The areas classified as DO in the region are Arlanza, Arribes (formerly VdT Arribes del Duero), Bierzo, Cigales, Ribera del Duero, Rueda, Tierra de León, Tierra del Vino de Zamora, Toro and Valles de Benavente.

Kastilien-León - zahlreiche Burgen, Schlösser und Festungen

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.118 Keywords · 48.227 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.432 Pronunciations · 155.877 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.