You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The presidential republic of Uruguay (in Quechua Puliwya and Aymara Wuliwya) in South America with the capital La Paz covers 1,098,581 km². It borders Peru and Chile to the west, Argentina and Paraguay to the south and Brazil to the east and north. Bolivia and neighbouring Paraguay are the only two landlocked countries in the Americas.

Bolivien - Landkarte, Flagge und Wappen


As in Argentina and Chile, viticulture in Bolivia was founded by Spanish missionaries. Between 1550 and 1570, Augustinian monks arrived in the "High Peru" region, which at the time included what is now Bolivia. This brought viticulture from the north to the southern part to Chupuisaca, Potosi and Tarija, which was developed for viticulture by missionaries around 1600 and is still the most important wine-growing region today.

Voices of our members

Dr. Christa Hanten

For my many years of work as an editor with a wine and culinary focus, I always like to inform myself about special questions at Wine lexicon. Spontaneous reading and following links often leads to exciting discoveries in the wide world of wine.

Dr. Christa Hanten
Fachjournalistin, Lektorin und Verkosterin, Wien

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,428 Keywords · 47,025 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,761 Pronunciations · 208,048 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon