You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Bacchus Prize

A prize donated by ÖWM (Österreich Wein Marketing GmbH) and the Austrian Winegrowers' Association, named after the wine god Bacchus. It is awarded to personalities who have rendered outstanding services to Austrian wine. The award is presented annually on Martini on 11 November on the occasion of the traditional wine baptism. The award is intended to express gratitude to those personalities who dedicate a part of their work to Austrian wine and its culture and who advocate moderate and cultivated wine drinking. This is in line with the efforts to have the drinking culture and table culture on that level that a good glass of wine is a real enrichment of the values of life. The Bacchus Prize was awarded for the first time in 1971. Previous winners have included the actors Rudolf Carl, Paul Hörbiger, Elfriede Ott, Alfred Böhm and Harald Krassnitzer, the composer Robert Stolz, the Federal President Rudolf Kirchschläger, the wine authors and wine critics Bernulf Bruckner, and the wine critic Bernulf Bruckner. Wine critics Bernulf Bruckner, Walter Kutscher, Egon Mark and Rudolf Steurer, wine pastor Johannes Denk, celebrity chef Toni Mörwald, two Viennese mayors Helmut Zilk and Michael Häupl, Lower Austrian governor Erwin Pröll (the latter two in 2018), and "Germany's No. 1 sommelière" Paula Bosch. See also under the wine god as well as winegrowing personalities.

Voices of our members

Sigi Hiss

There is a vast number of sources on the web where one can acquire knowledge about wine. But none has the scope, timeliness and accuracy of the information in the encyclopaedia at wein.plus. I use it regularly and rely on it.

Sigi Hiss
freier Autor und Weinberater (Fine, Vinum u.a.), Bad Krozingen

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,439 Keywords · 47,020 Synonyms · 5,321 Translations · 31,772 Pronunciations · 209,579 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon