You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


Abbreviation for "American Viticultural Area" (also "Approved Viticultural Area"), the appellation system used in the USA. It was introduced at the insistence of Californian grape growers in particular. This was because the classification system developed in California in the 1940s according to climate zones had proved to be ineffective. From 1970 onwards, all US states were examined with regard to their geographical characteristics by the BATF (today TTB = Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) on behalf of the US federal government. This was, for example, the suitability of certain regions for a certain grape variety. Then, in 1978, some geographical areas were classified for the first time, thus creating the conditions for a system of origin according to the French Appellation d'Origine Protégée. The first systems, which were still very inconsistent, were oriented towards political state or county borders.

Voices of our members

Thorsten Rahn

The Wine lexicon helps me to stay up to date and refresh my knowledge. Thank you for this Lexicon that will never end in terms of topicality! That's what makes it so exciting to visit more often.

Thorsten Rahn
Restaurantleiter, Sommelier, Weindozent und Autor; Dresden

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,028 Keywords · 46,829 Synonyms · 5,324 Translations · 31,363 Pronunciations · 184,895 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon