Log in Become a Member


In January 1788 an English ship with 300 convicts and guards landed on the south-eastern coast of Australia in the harbour of the city of Sydney, which was founded in the same year. Commander was Captain Arthur Phillip (1738-1814), who also became the first governor of the later state of New South Wales. He recorded that in such a favorable climate, viticulture could be carried on to any degree of perfection. They immediately started planting the vines they had brought with them (where Farm Cove is located today). But it was to take 200 years before Australian viticulture could establish itself. The first decades rum was drunk so excessively that the camp was called "Rum-Corps".

The Scotsman James Busby (1802-1871), who acquired his knowledge of wine in France and emigrated to Australia, is considered the pioneer and even "father of Australian viticulture". In 1825 he founded a farm north of Sydney in the Hunter Valley - in one of today's best Australian wine regions. From a trip to Europe in 1833, he brought back hundreds of grape seedlings, including the Syrah, which later became famous in Australia as Shiraz. Busby published writings and books on viticulture, viticulture and winemaking. His instructions were used by Silesian immigrants from 1841 onwards when planting vineyards.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.435 Keywords · 48.218 Synonyms · 5.313 Translations · 28.751 Pronunciations · 159.943 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon