You are using an old browser that may not function as expected.
For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member


The presidential Republic of Argentina in the south of South America with the capital Buenos Aires covers 2,780,400 km². It borders Chile to the west, Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil and Uruguay to the north-east and is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east. Until its independence in 1816, it was part of the Spanish colonial empire.

Argentinien - Landkarte, Flagge, Wappen


In 1541, Spanish conquistadores planted vines at the mouth of the Rio de la Plata on the Atlantic coast, but without success. Argentinian viticulture began with the production of mass wine. The citizens of the northern city of Santiago del Estero in the province of the same name built a church and looked for a priest.

Voices of our members

Markus J. Eser

Using the encyclopaedia is not only time-saving, but also extremely convenient. What's more, the information is always up to date.

Markus J. Eser
Weinakademiker und Herausgeber „Der Weinkalender“

The world's largest Lexicon of wine terms.

26,384 Keywords · 46,991 Synonyms · 5,323 Translations · 31,718 Pronunciations · 202,784 Cross-references
made with by our author Norbert F. J. Tischelmayer. About the Lexicon