Log in Become a Member


DOC area for red, rosé and white wines in the Italian region of Umbria. In 2011 the wines of the former DOC area Colli Amerini were transferred. The zone includes the municipalities of Attigliano, Giove, Penna in Teverina, Alviano, Amelia, Calvi dell'Umbria, Guardea, Lugnano in Teverina, Montecastrilli, Narni, Otricoli, San Gemini and Terni in the province of Terni. The Roman poet Vergil (70-19 B.C.) reported that wines were delivered from here to Rome.

The Bianco is made from Trebbiano Toscano (50%) and other authorised varieties (max. 15%). Rosso (also as Novello and Riserva) and Rosato are produced from Sangiovese (50%), as well as other approved varieties (max. 15%). The pure variety wines must contain at least 85% of the respective variety. These are Ciliegiolo (also as Riserva), Grechetto = Grechetto di Orvieto, Malvasia = Malvasia Bianca Lunga, Merlot (also as Riserva) and Sangiovese (also as Riserva). The Vin Santo is produced from Trebbiano Toscano (at 50%), the salmon-red Vin Santo Occhio di Pernice from Sangiovese (max. 15%). If the grapes come from classified vineyards, Vigna can be indicated followed by the name of the vineyard.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

23.136 Keywords · 48.170 Synonyms · 5.311 Translations · 28.450 Pronunciations · 155.966 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon


Cookies facilitate the provision of our services. By using our services, you agree that we use cookies.