You are using an old browser that may not function as expected. For a better, safer browsing experience, please upgrade your browser.

Log in Become a Member

Canton with the capital Aarau in the central north of Switzerland. The vineyards cover 395 hectares of vineyards in about 70 municipalities with almost a thousand winegrowers, which belong to the wine region of German-speaking Switzerland. These are scattered over numerous sites and plots of land in valleys. The seven areas are called Aarau Umgebung, Fricktal, Limmattal, Reusstal, Schenkenbergertal, Seetal, Unteres Aaretal and Wildegg. The area is situated on the same geographical latitude as Burgundy. It produces about two thirds red wines and one third white wines. Important red wine varieties are Pinot Noir, Regent, Garanoir, Maréchal Foch and Léon Millot, important white wine varieties Riesling x Sylvaner(Müller-Thurgau), Pinot Gris, Gewürztraminer and Chardonnay. Well-known producers are Meier and Zweifel.

The world's largest Lexikon of wine terms.

25.171 Keywords · 47.403 Synonyms · 5.307 Translations · 30.483 Pronunciations · 167.594 Cross-references
made with by our Experts. About the Lexicon